After The Miracle: The Lasting Brotherhood Of The 69 Mets

After The Miracle: The Lasting Brotherhood Of The '69 Mets


“A great and insightful” (Keith Hernandez, New York Mets legend and broadcaster) New York Times bestseller account of an iconic team in baseball history: the 1969 New York Mets—a last-place team that turned it all around in just one season—told by ’69 Mets outfielder Art Shamsky, Hall of Fame pitcher Tom Seaver, and other teammates who reminisce about that legendary season and their enduring bonds decades later.

The New York Mets franchise began in 1962 and the team finished in last place nearly every year. When the 1969 season began, fans weren’t expecting much from “the Lovable Losers.” But as the season progressed, the Mets inched closer to first place and then eventually clinched the National League pennant. They were underdogs against the formidable Baltimore Orioles, but beat them in five games to become world champions. No one had predicted it. In fact, fans could hardly believe it happened. Suddenly they were “the Miracle Mets.”

Playing right field for the ’69 Mets was Art Shamsky, who had stayed in touch with his former teammates over the years. He hoped to get together with star pitcher Tom Seaver (who would win the Cy Young award as the best pitcher in the league in 1969 and go on to become the first Met elected to the Hall of Fame), but Seaver was ailing and could not travel. So, Shamsky organized a visit to “Tom Terrific” in California, accompanied by the #2 pitcher, Jerry Koosman, outfielder Ron Swoboda, and shortstop Bud Harrelson. Together they recalled the highlights of that amazing season as they reminisced about what changed the Mets’ fortunes in 1969.

In this “enjoyable tale of a storybook season” (Kirkus Reviews), and with the help of sportswriter Erik Sherman, Shamsky has written the “revealing” (New York Newsday) After the Miracle for the 1969 Mets. “This heartfelt, nostalgic memoir will delight baseball fans of all ages and allegiances” (Publishers Weekly). It’s a book that every Mets fan must own.


  • 001 AfterTheMiracle Title
    Duration: 19s
  • 002 AfterTheMiracle Ch1 TheIdea
    Duration: 32min
  • 003 AfterTheMiracle Ch2 TheLovableLosers
    Duration: 33min
  • 004 AfterTheMiracle Ch3 OpeningDay
    Duration: 16min
  • 005 AfterTheMiracle Ch4 TheStreak
    Duration: 24min
  • 006 AfterTheMiracle Ch5 TheClubhouseLawyer
    Duration: 18min
  • 007 AfterTheMiracle Ch6 ARivalryIsBorn
    Duration: 11min
  • 008 AfterTheMiracle Ch7 TheImperfectGame
    Duration: 15min
  • 009 AfterTheMiracle Ch8 OneSmallStepForManOneGiantLeapForTheMets
    Duration: 26min
  • 010 AfterTheMiracle Ch9 GilSendsAMessage
    Duration: 13min
  • 011 AfterTheMiracle Ch10 TheComeback
    Duration: 24min
  • 012 AfterTheMiracle Ch11 TheBlackCat
    Duration: 20min
  • 013 AfterTheMiracle Ch12 LookWhosNumber1
    Duration: 10min
  • 014 AfterTheMiracle Ch13 ExpectingTheUnexpected
    Duration: 13min
  • 015 AfterTheMiracle Ch14 TheClincher
    Duration: 19min
  • 016 AfterTheMiracle Ch15 ABraveNewWorld
    Duration: 39min
  • 017 AfterTheMiracle Ch16 DavidVersusGoliath
    Duration: 24min
  • 018 AfterTheMiracle Ch17 KoozToTheRescue
    Duration: 16min
  • 019 AfterTheMiracle Ch18 AgeePutsOnAClinic
    Duration: 16min
  • 020 AfterTheMiracle Ch19 TheCatch
    Duration: 17min
  • 021 AfterTheMiracle Ch20 ADateWithDestiny
    Duration: 39min
  • 022 AfterTheMiracle Ch21 ToTheVictorsGoTheSpoils
    Duration: 24min
  • 023 AfterTheMiracle Ch22 TheJourney
    Duration: 37min
  • 024 AfterTheMiracle Ch23 VineyardOfDreams
    Duration: 01h17min
  • 025 AfterTheMiracle Credits
    Duration: 33s