Rage Becomes Her: The Power Of Womens Anger

Rage Becomes Her: The Power Of Women's Anger


“Relentless and revelatory.”The New Yorker

“Urgent, enlightening.” —The Washington Post

Rage Becomes Her is an “utterly eye opening” (Bustle) book that gives voice to the causes, expressions, and possibilities of female rage.

As women, we’ve been urged for so long to bottle up our anger, letting it corrode our bodies and minds in ways we don’t even realize. Yet there are so, so many legitimate reasons for us to feel angry, ranging from blatant, horrifying acts of misogyny to the subtle drip, drip drip of daily sexism that reinforces the absurdly damaging gender norms of our society.

In Rage Becomes Her, Soraya Chemaly argues that our anger is not only justified, it is also an active part of the solution. We are so often encouraged to resist our rage or punished for justifiably expressing it, yet how many remarkable achievements would never have gotten off the ground without the kernel of anger that fueled them? Approached with conscious intention, anger is a vital instrument, a radar for injustice and a catalyst for change. On the flip side, the societal and cultural belittlement of our anger is a cunning way of limiting and controlling our power – one we can no longer abide.

“A work of great spirit and verve” (Time), Rage Becomes Her is a validating, energizing read that will change the way you interact with the world around you.

People who listen this also listen:


  • RageBecomesHer 001 open

    Duration: 30s

  • RageBecomesHer 002 Dedication

    Duration: 17s

  • RageBecomesHer 003 Epigraph

    Duration: 21s

  • RageBecomesHer 004 Introduction

    Duration: 27min

  • RageBecomesHer 005 Ch1

    Duration: 55min

  • RageBecomesHer 006 Ch2

    Duration: 44min

  • RageBecomesHer 007 Ch3

    Duration: 36min

  • RageBecomesHer 008 Ch4

    Duration: 55min

  • RageBecomesHer 009 Ch5

    Duration: 01h56s

  • RageBecomesHer 010 Ch6

    Duration: 01h08min

  • RageBecomesHer 011 Ch7

    Duration: 01h02min

  • RageBecomesHer 012 Ch8

    Duration: 01h21min

  • RageBecomesHer 013 Ch9

    Duration: 01h18min

  • RageBecomesHer 014 ch10

    Duration: 01h08min

  • RageBecomesHer 015 conclusion

    Duration: 16min

  • RageBecomesHer 016 Acknowledgements

    Duration: 03min

  • RageBecomesHer 017 NoteonSources

    Duration: 01min

  • RageBecomesHer 018 close

    Duration: 01min