Betaball: How Silicon Valley And Science Built One Of The Greatest Basketball Teams In History

Betaball: How Silicon Valley And Science Built One Of The Greatest Basketball Teams In History

Synopsis

“As lively, thorough, and engaging as the team it chronicles” (Nathaniel Friedman), Betaball is a compelling look at how the Golden State Warriors embraced savvy business practices, next generation science, and Silicon Valley’s technocentric culture not only to produce one of the greatest basketball teams in history but also to revolutionize the NBA—perfect for fans of Moneyball and The Book of Basketball.

Betaball is the definitive, inside account of how the Golden State Warriors, under the ownership of venture capitalist Joe Lacob and Hollywood producer Peter Guber, quickly became one of the greatest success stories in both sports and business.

In just five years, they turned a declining franchise with no immediate hope into the NBA’s dominant force—and facilitated the rise of All-Star point guard Stephen Curry. By operating in “beta,” the Warriors morphed into a model organization for American professional sports, instituting the best workplace principles found inside the world’s most successful corporations, and instilling a top-down organizational ethos that allows employees—from the front office to the free-throw line—to thrive.

With in-depth access and meticulous reporting on and off the court, acclaimed journalist Eric Malinowski recounts a gripping tale of a team’s reinvention, of worlds colliding, of ordinary people being pushed to extraordinary heights, and the Golden State Warriors’ chase for a second straight NBA championship during the 2015-’16 season. Betaball is “a book for fans of all sports and science, business and analytics, Silicon Valley and Wall Street, front offices and locker rooms, money and winning” (Don Van Natta Jr., ESPN reporter and New York Times bestselling author).

People who listen this also listen:


Chapters

  • Betaball 01 Open

    Duration: 40s

  • Betaball 02 Prologue

    Duration: 09min

  • Betaball 03 Ch1

    Duration: 47min

  • Betaball 04 Ch2

    Duration: 48min

  • Betaball 05 Ch3

    Duration: 32min

  • Betaball 06 Ch4

    Duration: 01h05min

  • Betaball 07 Ch5

    Duration: 01h11min

  • Betaball 08 Ch6

    Duration: 48min

  • Betaball 09 Ch7

    Duration: 01h20min

  • Betaball 10 Ch8

    Duration: 55min

  • Betaball 11 Ch9

    Duration: 38min

  • Betaball 12 Ch10

    Duration: 49min

  • Betaball 13 Ch11

    Duration: 45min

  • Betaball 14 Ch12

    Duration: 40min

  • Betaball 15 Epilogue

    Duration: 14min

  • Betaball 16 Credits

    Duration: 01min