On Bowie

On Bowie


From the New York Times bestselling author of Love Is a Mix Tape, a thoughtful and loving meditation on the life of the late David Bowie that explores his creative legacy and the enduring and mutual connection he enjoyed with his fans

Innovative. Pioneering. Brave. Until his death in January 2016, David Bowie created art that not only pushed boundaries, but helped fans understand themselves and view the world from fantastic new perspectives.

When the shocking news of his death on January 10, 2016 broke, the outpouring of grief and adulation was immediate and ongoing. Fans around the world and across generations paid homage to this brilliant, innovate, ever evolving artist who both shaped and embodied our times.

In this concise and penetrating book, featuring color photographs, highly regarded Rolling Stone critic, bestselling author, and lifelong Bowie fan Rob Sheffield shares his own feelings about the passing of this icon and explains why Bowie’s death has elicited such an unprecedented emotional outpouring from so many lives.

People who listen this also listen:


  • 001 On Bowie
    Duration: 11s
  • 002 Introduction
    Duration: 34min
  • 003 The Night David Bowie Died
    Duration: 14min
  • 004 The London Boy
    Duration: 08min
  • 005 Major Tom
    Duration: 31min
  • 006 The Queen Bitch who Sold the World
    Duration: 11min
  • 007 The Starman
    Duration: 12min
  • 008 The Night Ziggy Met America
    Duration: 08min
  • 009 Aladdin Sane
    Duration: 10min
  • 010 The Cracked Actor
    Duration: 07min
  • 011 Young Americans
    Duration: 16min
  • 012 The Plastic Soul Brother
    Duration: 10min
  • 013 The Man Who Fell to Earth
    Duration: 08min
  • 014 The Thin White Duke
    Duration: 18min
  • 015 The Dictator
    Duration: 06min
  • 016 The Low Profile
    Duration: 14min
  • 017 The DJ
    Duration: 10min
  • 018 The Lodger
    Duration: 08min
  • 019 The Modern Lover
    Duration: 07min
  • 020 Let's Not Dance
    Duration: 11min
  • 021 Looking For Satellites
    Duration: 10min
  • 022 Where Are We Now
    Duration: 05min
  • 023 The Black Star
    Duration: 16min
  • 024 Credits
    Duration: 30s
  • sample
    Duration: 01min